AUKUS: All you want to know about the US, the UK and Austrialia’s triad

By Financial express

The big news of this week is the formation of a new military alliance of Australia, the UK and the US (AUKUS). With this new alliance, the first major initiative is helping Australia in building nuclear-powered submarines for its navy.

Both the US and the UK have already announced that the three countries will work together and the UK based BAE Systems as well as sharing of hi-tech expertise will be put in this project.

This also means, as reported by Financial Express Online that the deal which was inked with the Naval Group of France to build these submarines stands cancelled. The Naval Group is helping India in building `Scorpene’ class submarines for the Indian Navy under Transfer of Technology.

The trilateral security pact was announced jointly by the three leaders – US President Joe Biden, Prime Minister Boris Johnson of the UK and Australian Prime Minister Scott Morrison, virtually.

Teams from the three countries are expected to present a plan over the next 18 months for building these submarines which are going to be nuclear powered. Once Australia has these submarines, it will become the seventh country in the world to have nuclear submarines which are expected to built in Adelaide.

Though no one mentioned China, but the new military alliance is going to play a very important role in the Indo-Pacific and to address the strategic environment in the region. According to experts, the idea to ensure that the expansion of Chinese presence is curtailed.

According to reports, Chinese have reportedly deployed a range of anti-ship missiles and surface-to-air missiles there, in the resource-rich South China Sea.

Facebook Comments

Financial express
Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button