These countries have extended travel ban on India

By Hindustan Times

Despite India’s Covid-19 situation being better, several countries are extending travel ban on India in the wake of the rapid spread of the Delta variant. Delta variant was first reported in India in October 2020. It has now spread to over 100 countries and is being seen as the possible reason for the fresh rise in Covid-19 cases in many countries including the United Kingdom.

Indian students, however, are being allowed as Indian missions abroad are pushing for the lifting of restrictions.

Saudi Arabia said it will impose a three-year travel ban on citizens travelling to ‘red list’ countries. The list includes India apart from Afghanistan, Argentina, Brazil, Egypt, Ethiopia, India, Indonesia, Lebanon, Pakistan, South Africa, Turkey, Vietnam and the United Arab Emirates.

The United Arab Emirates has also extended the ban on Indian flights. Etihad Airways said that it is not sure when the ban will be lifted.

Canada has banned direct flights from India while Indians can reach Canada from any third destination.

The Philippines on Friday extended travel restrictions on India and nine other countries as the country is reimposing lockdown restrictions as well.

Apart from these countries, Indians can’t travel to Australia, Bangladesh, Indonesia, Italy, Kuwait, New Zealand, Oman, Singapore etc.

Facebook Comments

Hindustan Times
Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button