Onus on India to make strides as G7 partner

By Tribune India

The three-day G7 summit, which begins in the UK today, will witness the participation of India. The G7 is a group of developed, liberal democracies of Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the UK and the US. As G8, it included Russia (1998-2014) before it annexed Crimea. The EU is a participant. Besides India, Australia, South Korea and South Africa have been invited to the current summit.

The focus of the G7-2021 is “help the world fight, and then build back better from coronavirus and create a greener, more prosperous future.” Thus, health, climate change and economy will be the focuses of the summit.

India is a regular participant at these meetings since 2003. In some years, many countries were invited, like by Italy in L’Aquila in 2009 when the G8 met 15 invitee countries and 11 international organisations.

What does this really mean for India? For the G7, it is an inflection point, with calm returning to the trans-Atlantic relationship with the election of Joe Biden.

The G7 meeting (after a hiatus of a year since the last meeting could not be held due to the pandemic) indicates that not only is the US back in the mainstream of international relations

Facebook Comments

Tribune India
Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button