Not an alliance, Quad group of countries interested in strengthening rules-based order: US

By ET News

Quad — comprising Japan, India, Australia and the United States — is not an alliance but a grouping of countries which are interested in strengthening a rules-based order in the Indo-Pacific region, the US has said.

The four countries had in 2017 given shape to the long-pending proposal of setting up the “Quad” or the Quadrilateral coalition to counter China’s aggressive behaviour in the Indo-Pacific region.

“There’s nothing about the Quad that it is an alliance. It is not formalized. There’s no reciprocal obligation among the countries who are involved. It’s not an organization that solicits membership,” a senior administration official said during a conference call with reporters ahead of the next week’s 2+2 Ministerial Dialogue between India and the US.

US Secretary of State, Mike Pompeo, and Defence Secretary Mark Esper are travelling to India to hold talks with External Affairs Minister S Jaishankar and Defense Minister Rajnath Singh. The visiting American officials would also be meeting Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

To a query, the official said the Quad ministerial meeting that they had in Tokyo in October just demonstrated the strong ties among the Indo-Pacific democracies.

Facebook Comments

ET News
Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button