All about the insignia of Army’s ‘Fire and Fury’ Corps PM Modi met in Ladakh

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who made a surprise visit to Ladakh Friday, said India’s enemies have seen her “fire and fury” in a nod to the Leh-based 14 Corps while addressing soldiers. The 14 Corps is also known as the Fire and Fury Corps.

During his visit, the prime minister was seen wearing a cap with the 14 Corps insignia embossed on it. The insignia comprises two crossed flaming thunderbolts (Vajra) with a sword in between. 14 Corps is the only corps in the Indian Army that faces both Pakistan and China. The world’s highest battlefield Siachen falls under the purview of the 14 Corps.

Modi’s visit, along with the Chief of Defence Staff General Bipin Rawat and Army Chief General M.M. Naravane, comes at a time India has been locked in a stand-off with China for two months at the Line of Actual Control in Eastern Ladakh. Last month, on 15 June, tensions spiked following a violent face-off between troops, leading to 20 Indian soldiers being killed in action.

In his speech, Modi said the age of expansionism is over and this is the age of development.

Facebook Comments

The Print
Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button