BJP MPs Attend Taiwan President’s Swearing-in Ceremony As India Sends China Loud Message

As Taiwan President Tsai Ing-wen was sworn in for her second term on Wednesday, BJP MPs Meenakshi Lekhi and Rahul Kaswan virtually attended the ceremony and congratulated her on behalf of the Modi government, even as China claims it as its territory. This also comes amid the ongoing global inquest into the origins of the Covid crisis, with the WHO agreeing to and China permitting an investigation. Taiwan’s presence at the World Health Assembly was also a matter of question and widely mooted, though it did not eventually come about.

The BJP MPs were among the 92 dignitaries from 41 countries who had a virtual presence at the ceremony as foreign visitors are banned in Taiwan in the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Back in 2016, when Tsai was elected to her first term, the Indian government had decided against sending its MPs to Taiwan for the inaugural ceremony. This time around, the BJP MPs were also joined by Sohang Sen, the acting director-general of India-Taipei Association, who represented India at the ceremony in Taipei. India does not have an official diplomatic establishment in Taiwan, the same as 179 of the 194 United Nations members.

Facebook Comments

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button